Top Left Top Centre Top Right
Top Left2
      Home Page
      What is ISO/IEC 20000?
      Certification Scheme
         What is Certification?
         Use of the Logo
         Certified Org's
      Qualification Scheme
         Change Management
      About Us
         Data Protection, T&C;
Menu Bottom

ISO/IEC 20000 Certification

Frequently Asked Question

I believe there are many quality standards available. How do they compare and overlap?

There are many Quality Standards, frameworks and methods available and being unsure which one to examine or implement is understandable.  You may have heard of MOF, COBIT, CMMI, TickIT, ISO9000, ISO27001, EFQM, 6 Sigma, Balanced Scorecard and Sarbannes-Oxley. Most are not Standards in the strict sense, but simply tools to help organisations operate more efficiently and effectively.


ISO/IEC 20000 is unique in that it mirrors ITIL Service Management principles.  ISO/IEC 20000 will be readily understood by anyone with ITIL qualifications.


MOF, for instance, a branded product, openly states that it utilises ITIL principles, but also concentrates on the use of Microsoftproducts in its implementation.     


Most quality systems, by their very nature, have overlap with each other.  The most common overlap will be in the areas of quality management, training, documentation audit and conformance.    


A significant point in the adoption of or conversion to another standard is to avoid discarding any process, procedure or documentation without serious examination.


There is already some information in the marketplace about how various of the above items relate to each other and itSMF is compiling information about overlapping requirements between a number of Standards.

Please contact us for further information.


© Copyright. . ISO/IEC 20000 Certification. All Rights Reserved. Terms | Site Map